Determining voting results

The voting results of a polling district are determined by the polling district committee.

All votes cast in the division are counted after 8 p.m. The district committee prepares a record of voting results, all ballot papers and documents are packaged and forwarded to the county electoral committee (rural municipality or city electoral committee in case of council elections).

The European Parliament elections constitute an exception, where voting results may not be disclosed before the end of the voting in all EU Member States (e.g. at 11 p.m. at the 2009 elections). In this case, the counting of votes is started at the division after the termination of voting at 8 p.m. so that the votes would be counted by the time of announcement of the result. Nobody may leave the vote counting room before the end of voting in all EU Member States.

Ballot papers are counted for the second time in the county electoral committee, or in rural municipality or city electoral committee in case of council elections. If the electoral committee finds faults in the results of the polling district committee, an annex to the record is compiled concerning the corrections.

At the Riigikogu and the European Parliament elections and referendums, the votes of voters permanently residing abroad are counted in the county electoral committee. In addition, electronically cast votes are counted separately by the Electronic Voting Committee.

The final voting results are determined by the National Electoral Committee, or a rural municipality or city electoral committee in case of local government council elections. The election result is calculated on the basis of voting results.

Voting results and election results are ascertained publicly.