National Electoral Committee confirmed European Parliament election results


At its today’s meeting, the National Electoral Committee registered the following members of the European Parliament: Andrus Ansip (Estonian Reform Party), Marina Kaljurand (Social Democratic Party), Yana Toom (Estonian Centre Party), Urmas Paet (Estonian Reform Party), Jaak Madison (Estonian Conservative People’s Party) and Sven Mikser (Social Democratic Party).

The election results are deemed to be declared on the date following publication of the resolution of the National Electoral Committee in the Riigi Teataja.

The National Electoral Committee also registered the list of the alternate members for the European Parliament.

The members of the Riigikogu who were elected will have to decide, within ten days after the date of declaration of the election results, whether they will become members of the European Parliament.

In addition, pursuant to law, it was decided to refund the security deposit to the political parties and independent candidates who had received at least 5 per cent of the votes nationally. They are the following: the Estonian Reform Party, the Social Democratic Party, the Estonian Centre Party, the Estonian Conservative People’s Party, Isamaa, and the independent candidate Raimond Kaljulaid. The security of 54,000 euro not subject to refund is transferred to public revenues.