National Electoral Committee distributed mandates for Riigikogu elections


At its today’s meeting, the National Electoral Committee distributed the mandates for the 2023 Riigikogu elections. In comparison to 2019, Harju County and Rapla County Electoral District has gained one mandate and Ida-Viru County Electoral District has lost one mandate.

The distribution of mandates is based on the number of voters in an electoral district as at 1 November. “The mandates have been distributed, and it means that starting from tomorrow, it will be possible to nominate candidates for the elections of the Riigikogu,” Chairman of the National Electoral Committee Oliver Kask said.

The 101 mandates are distributed among the electoral districts as follows:

  • Electoral District No. 1 (Tallinn city districts of Haabersti, Põhja-Tallinn and Kristiine) – 10 mandates;
  • Electoral District No. 2 (Tallinn city districts of Kesklinn, Lasnamäe and Pirita) – 13 mandates;
  • Electoral District No. 3 (Tallinn city districts of Mustamäe and Nõmme) – 8 mandates;
  • Electoral District No. 4 (Harju County (except Tallinn) and Rapla County) – 16 mandates;
  • Electoral District No. 5 (Hiiu County, Lääne County and Saare County) – 6 mandates;
  • Electoral District No. 6 (Lääne-Viru County) – 5 mandates;
  • Electoral District No. 7 (Ida-Viru County) – 6 mandates;
  • Electoral District No. 8 (Järva County and Viljandi County) – 7 mandates;
  • Electoral District No. 9 (Jõgeva County and Tartu County (except the city of Tartu)) – 7 mandates;
  • Electoral District No. 10 (the city of Tartu) – 8 mandates;
  • Electoral District No. 11 (Võru County, Valga County and Põlva County) – 8 mandates;
  • Electoral District No. 12 (Pärnu County) – 7 mandates.

The nomination of candidates begins tomorrow, on 1 December at 10 a.m. and ends on 19 January at 6 p.m. Instructions for submission of the documents for standing as a candidate can be found here.

The Riigikogu election week is from 27 February to 5 March 2023.